Tokyo Olympics: Mary Kom, Manpreet Singh To Be India’s Flag Bearers At Opening Ceremony

Legendary boxer MC Mary Kom and men’s hockey team skipper Manpreet Singh to be flag bearers at opening ceremony of Tokyo Olympics, Indian Olympic Association said on Monday.

The Indian Olympic Association (IOA) has communicated the decision in this regard to the Organising Committee of the Games. In a first, India is having two flag-bearers — one male and one female — at the upcoming Tokyo Games to ensure “gender parity”. 

This was recently informed by IOA chief chief Narinder Batra. The country’s lone individual Olympic gold-medallist Abhinav Bindra was the flag-bearer at the opening ceremony of the 2016 Games in Rio de Janeiro. 

The Tokyo Games are scheduled to open on July 23 and over 100 Indian athletes would be gunning for podium finishes at the showpiece, which was postponed by a year because of the COVID-19 pandemic. 

At its executive board meeting last year, the International Olympic Committee had made provisions for flag-bearers from both genders at the opening ceremony. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *